Knee High Nursery –

Testimonials

Your childs safety is paramount - Covid safety measures in place.

One of the best nurseries in newquay

Overall Rating = 4.7 (20 Reviews)

4.7/5

Review from Sabrina L (Mother of Child) published on 2 October 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
I write this review as my youngest daughter has come to end attending Kneehigh to start her new journey at big school. Both my daughters attended Kneehigh, and we, as a family, praise all at Kneehigh for their support not only to our girls but their support to us a family. Honestly, I would highly recommend 
Kneehigh to anyone looking for an affordable, flexible and most importantly a welcoming nursery, then look no further. We can guarantee your little one/s would be the happiest children attending Kneehigh.

Review from C B (Mother of Child) published on 4 May 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My daughter attends Kneehigh and genuinely enjoys attending and looks forward to going each day. She enjoys the learning activities, interacting with her friends of different ages and the staff is always friendly and encouraging. She enjoys the fact that the outside area is always open, even in the 
wind and rain. The food they serve is always healthy and varied and she is always encouraged to try new food and meals.

Review from R F (Mother of Child) published on 27 March 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.8/5

My youngest child is currently at Kneehigh after her 2 older siblings attended and loved it. She is very happy, learning well and is well looked after by the staff who are all extremely hardworking and dedicated to the care and development of each child’s individual needs.

Review from Gabriella G (Mother of Child) published on 3 March 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.8/5
My little girl has been at Kneehigh for nearly 2 years and loves it. She does half the week there and half with a childminder it works really well. The staff are really really good and experienced, a great range of kids. She enjoys the outside areas, games singing and the structured days. The cooked  lunches are great, with the end of term parties and plays. Lots of natures based play. All in all absolutely brilliant value for money.

Review from S L (Mother of Child) published on 2 March 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
What an amazing nursery! I have had my son here at Kneehigh now since January 2019, till the present date. I have been so lucky to have chosen this nursery for my son. The place, especially the staff, go that extra mile, always. I can’t praise Kneehigh Nursery enough, to be honest. Thank you. My son 
is very happy here.

Review from A B (Father of Child) published on 19 February 2020

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.4/5
I looked at several pre-schools before choosing Kneehigh Nursery. As time has gone on I am more and more glad that I made the choice that I did. I really like the setting and the workers. Both I and my son get on really well with his key-person. The school as a whole has a really nice homely real-world atmosphere and everybody has a nice friendly attitude. My son starts school in September and will be sad to leave both the staff and the setting.

Review from Cora S (Mother of Child) published on 7 June 2019

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.8/5
My son has come on leaps and bounds in this setting! He starts school in September and Kneehigh have been amazing in getting him to where he needs to be, they have kept me involved in every aspect of his learning and development and have worked closely with me to ensure he has a great stay to school. Could not recommend highly enough, the staff are great.

Review from Lucy H (Mother of Child) published on 29 March 2019

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.8/5

My son attended Kneehigh for six months and was very happy there. Staff were always friendly and approachable. Would recommend it to other parents. Relocation meant that my son could no longer attend otherwise would have been there longer.

Review from Georgina M (Mother of Child) published on 30 October 2018

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My son attended Kneehigh Nursery for two years prior to starting school in September 2018. He was always very happy to go to nursery and always had so much fun with his friends and the wonderful staff who work there. The staff were all very caring and approachable and the manager was always flexible if I needed to change sessions or have extra sessions. The cost of childcare at Kneehigh is also very reasonable compared with other nurseries in Newquay. Kneehigh offers a wide range of learning experiences with lots of different toys/activities and it has a fantastic outside space for children to play, which my son absolutely loved. The lunch menu is excellent and encourages children to try a wide range of new foods. When my son started at Kneehigh, he was quite a fussy eater but now eats absolutely everything! The staff at Kneehigh did a wonderful job in preparing my son for starting school and I would highly recommend the nursery.

Review from Shelley R (Mother of Child) published on 24 October 2018

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My son started here 3 months ago when he turned two. I’d never left him before and I was really dreading it. The staff were so lovely and welcoming and let me settle him at our own pace. It wasn’t long before the tears stopped, he loves it. So much to explore and a wonderful outside area open in all weathers. So happy that I went with my gut feeling that this was the right nursery for my boy. Highly recommend.

Review from Hannah H (Mother of Child) published on 23 October 2018

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My goodness where do I start, my son has been going to Kneehigh Nursery for just over a year and the difference in him is amazing. The staff are fabulous, always happy to help answer questions and genuinely support us as a family. I had to have an operation quite quickly and they were so accommodating with our son, he loves it there and when it isn’t a nursery day he is asking to go. He has come so far since starting Kneehigh Nursery, we absolutely love the fact the children go outside come rain or shine. An absolutely brilliant nursery and I highly recommend it. Oh, and he recently just started having lunch and loves it, so healthy and a lovely mixture.

Review from Noelia R (Mother of Child) published on 15 October 2018

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
I’m really happy with Kneehigh Nursery. It’s my boy’s 2nd home. The food is nice and healthy and the staff are the best people I’ve ever met. My oldest started at school reading and writing really well because they have great learning methods. When I ask them a favour, the answer is always YES. Definitely 
wonderful.

Review from J F (Mother of Child) published on 7 August 2017

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My child is just about to leave Kneehigh and go to school, I’ll be so sad to leave but very happy that my youngest will go there in 2 years. Kneehigh have been fantastic, the staff are superb, you are told about everything, they are very informative. I love the outside space and the freedom that they have.

Review from Charlotte S (Mother of Child) published on 6 August 2018

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My son has been at Kneehigh for nearly a year now and it’s an amazing nursery. The staff are all smiles and information when required. Also, you meet up with your child’s key worker once a term to see how your child is getting on. The second thing we feel we could use to write a review is the difference you see in your little bundle of joy. In our case just two weeks after our little man started we couldn’t help but notice that he had not only come out of his shell but completely shattered it. His speech immediately improved. His posture improved and he understood so much more about multi-person interaction. He loves nursery and doesn’t like being told he isn’t going at the weekends. They have a great outdoor space and the children are allowed out, come wind, rain or shine. They also do little outings, sports day and a Christmas play. Our new young baby will be at Kneehigh without a second’s thought.

eview from Ellie M (Mother of Child) published on 31 March 2017

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
I have two little boys who attend Kneehigh Nursery. They are now aged 4 and 2. They love going to nursery and have learnt so much since starting there. All the staff are amazing, friendly, professional and have been a massive part in the boys growing and learning. I am really happy with the nursery and everything about it. I love that the boys can play outdoors as and when they wish and there is such a free play which I believe is so important for development. They have both developed great relationships with both staff and other little people. On occasions, the nursery have little outings, which is quite exciting for the kids. I love that they have their own little sports day and Christmas play each year. Every moment is just precious to them. I am so pleased we found the nursery and have had the opportunity for both my boys to be part of growing up there.

Review from Claire H (Mother of Child) published on 14 December 2016

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
I moved my daughter to this nursery only 4 weeks ago. The transition has been amazing and I would put that down to the warm, caring, nurturing way the nursery is run by it’s staff. She talks about the nursery all the time and loves going. There is an unlimited supply of resources, careful planning, boundless outdoor space and fantastic activities that keep the children happy all day. Excellent!

Review from Katie T (Mother of Child) published on 24 October 2016

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

5/5
My daughter loved Kneehigh. It suited her as she loves the freedom to explore and be adventurous – the nursery cater for that with their indoor learning spaces which change every month depending on their chosen topic, and their huge outdoor area with a massive range of equipment and toys. All children have access to waterproofs and are allowed to go out and play even in the rain if they want to; something which my little girl enjoyed. Unlike some other nurseries, Kneehigh offers so much more than just childcare during the sessions your child attends; I felt that the staff were always friendly and approachable and as a family, I felt we had the support and advice in relation to anything and everything we needed help with or information on. The staff are a wonderful group of mum’s who care, nurture and raise other mum’s children which was exactly what I wanted from a nursery. Thank you to the manager and co, you made choosing a nursery for my little girl easy and guilt-free knowing she was so happy in your care.

Review from A C (Mother of Child) published on 17 October 2016

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.8/5
My daughter has been attending Kneehigh Nursery for a year now and has loved every minute. The continual change of indoor and outdoor learning activities keep the children interested and engaged. My daughter learns life skills such as cleaning up after herself at snack and lunchtime, changing her footwear and outdoor clothing. Kneehigh Nursery have fully supported my daughter during potty training and removing her dummy. The staff are kind, compassionate, encouraging and nurturing.

Review from Hope W (Mother of Child) published on 17 October 2016

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

4.4/5
My son only started at Kneehigh Nursery a couple of weeks ago however so far I have found the facilities to be excellent and all of the staff really lovely. They really make an effort to make him feel welcome when he arrives in the morning and I think they do a brilliant job. I’m looking forward to  my son spending happy days at Kneehigh Nursery for years to come.

Review from Elizabeth P (Mother of Child) published on 7 August 2019

Submitted via www.daynurseries.co.uk

Overall Rating:

1.7/5
Poor communication between staff, they were unable to explain the accidents/not witnessed. They claimed my son was copying another boy who had “behavioural problems” and were worried about his behaviour. Rather than giving more one to one time with the children, they requested I purchase toys to bribe good behaviour. He had “separated” across his file on the front page in red, which I believe is quite discriminating. My son started to feel scared going in the last 4 weeks of being there, when trying to improve the situation the manager would ignore it, also stated he was scared of a certain child and the staff’s answer was they’d keep them away from one another (in reality they should encourage good behaviour/relationships between the children). I don’t believe the staff have enough training behind them and a few occasions being short-staffed. The nursery is very cluttered and overcrowded, could do with revamping and a good clear out! It is clear to see toys indoors do not get cleaned as they should either.

OWNER REPLY: Dear Parent, we at the nursery are very sorry to hear that our setting did not live up to your expectations. However, as our current rating of being one of the top 20 nurseries in the Southwest shows this is not everybody’s opinion. I shall address each issue you have mentioned.
I have looked back at the Accident Forms for your child and note that your child had 9 accidents over 8 months, which equates to just over one per month. 3 of these were caused by other children; 4 were due to your child not following advice from staff; one was an accident, and you were present at the time of one of the accidents. As we all know, minor accidents are not uncommon in early childhood and staff are adhering to the setting’s policies and procedures by ensuring that all accidents are accurately recorded and shared.
Behaviour chart – As your child’s behaviour was becoming more boisterous and physical a reward chart was suggested to you in order to work towards reducing this. This was not presented to you as a bribe for your child. Your child was actively encouraged to use their words to ask for toys they would like to play with and to move into spaces they would like to play, instead of using their hands or feet to hurt others. When they did this your child was rewarded with a ‘stamp’ on their chart. When your child achieved a set amount of ‘stamps’ they were rewarded with a prize. This is a strategy which is suggested through training which practitioners have attended that focuses on praise for positive behaviours, as opposed to punishment for inappropriate behaviours. The staff did their best to adapt the strategies according to your child’s needs and in partnership with you, the parent. You agreed to initiate this strategy in partnership with staff.
Separated comment – Each child has a Learning Journey at our setting. This does not contain the information about the family unit. It is solely about the child. However, we do note on children’s index cards the nature of the family unit, discretely at the bottom. This is so that key persons know to provide two sets of letters and play plans, etc (one for each parent), to ensure information is shared with all concerned.
Scared comment and drop-offs – This issue was discussed with you when you emailed me. Whenever you arrived at the setting I gave you time to hang up their bag and then welcomed your child in. I always spoke to them making a comment about what they were wearing or the toy they had brought in. Your child did not cry when he left you. You did not ask to discuss the issue further. Staff support the emotional needs of all children to ensure they are made to feel welcome and safe in the setting.
Comment about another child and being short-staffed – On occasions, two children do not get on at all. In such circumstances, it is sometimes best to encourage these children to be in different play spaces until their negativity towards one another lessens. These children can then begin to play alongside each other with support from an adult when their disposition towards one another is more relaxed.
Our staff: child ratio is above the recommended Government requirements.
Banked hours – The Banked hours that you are referring to were accrued on Easter Monday and May Bank Holiday, you then used these during the May half term. I never claim any fees or funded hours for Bank Holidays.
Cluttered/ overcrowded – Our setting has many resources available to children to play with. Their play space is not overcrowded. As my office is also a storage space and staff room it does appear cluttered at times, but this does not have an impact on the children.
Revamp and cleaning – Our building is beginning to show its age and is due for a re-paint internally. We are also aware that our toilet area is in need of an update.

REQUEST A CALL

Contact Info

26 Tretherras Road, Newquay, TR7 2RE